

# Official Gazette of Iraq

Al-Waqai' Al-Iraqiyya

الوقائع العراقية

وهقايعي عيراقي

الجريدة الرسمية لجمهورية العراق

رۆژنامەى فەرمى كۆمارى عيراق

تصدر عن وزارة العدل

Legislation

No. 12

# **Official Holiday Law**

N0 (12) of 2024 هانون العطلات الرسمية

Translated in

**Ministry Of Justice** 

Iraqi Official Gazette Department

**Translation Section** 

2024



## In the Name of People

### **Presidency of the Republic**

## **RESOLUTION NO.(12)**

Based on what had been approved by the Parliament, in accordance to the provisions of Item (First) of Article (61) and Item (Third) of Article (73) of the Constitution, the President of Republic decided on May 27, 2024 issuing the following law:

# NO (12) OF 2024 OFFICIAL HOLIDAY LAW

# **ARTICLE 1**

First: The following days shall be considered public official holidays:

- a. Friday and Saturday every week.
- b. (1) Muharram Al Haram, the Hijri New Year.



- c. (10) Muharram Al-Haram, the martyrdom of Imam Hussein, (peace be upon him) on the day of Ashuraa.
- d. (12) Rabi' al-Awwal, the Prophet Muhammad's holy birthday.
- e. (1-3) Shawal, the blessed Eid al-Fitr.
- f. (10-13) Dhu al-Hijjah, the Blessed Eid al-Adha.
- g. (18) Dhu al-Hijjah, AL-Gahdeer Day.
- h. (1) January, Gregorian New Year's.
- i. (6) January, the Iraqi Army Day.
- j. (21) March, Nowruz Holiday.
- k. (1) May, the International Worker Day.
- 1. (16) March commemoration of the Saddam Baath crimes against the Iraqi people (Halabcha, Al-Anfal, mass graves, the Shaabani uprising, the killing of scholars and parties)

#### Second:

- a. The first day of Eid al-Fitr and Eid al-Adha shall be determined by a statement issued by the Shiite endowment Bureau and the Sunni endowment Bureau and sent to the Prime Minister's office.
- b. If the bureaus of the two endowments aforementioned disagree in determining the days of the two Eids stipulated in Item (Second/a) of this article, the first day determined by the competent endowment bureau shall be considered an official holiday extending to the end of the last day determined by the other endowment bureau.

Third: The governorates that include the holy cities of (Honorable Najaf, Holy Karbala, Al-Kadhimiya and Samarra') shall be empowered to suspend work (The power of granting a



holiday. Translator) in official departments and institutions in the governorate on the day of the official religious holiday and before and after the aforementioned holiday, provided that it doesn't exceed (3) three days.

# ARTICLE 2

The following days shall be considered a special official holiday in addition to the official holidays stipulated in this law as follows:

First: Christianity

- a. Christmas day
- b. The two days of Great Feast

Second: Sabian

- a. (5) five days of the Feast of Creation in March.
- b. (4) four days of the Great Feast in July.
- c. (2) two days of Little Feast in November.
- d. The birthday of prophet (Yahya) (Peace be upon him) on 1st of May.

Third-: Yazidi:

- a. The first Friday of the eastern December, the Feast of Fasting.
- b. The first Wednesday of the eastern April, (Yazidi New Year).
- c. (23-30) eastern September, the Feast of Jama.
- d. (20-21) July, the Summer Arbaeen (the fourteenth day. Translator) Feast.



# ARTICLE 3

First: The Council of Ministers may decide a temporary official holiday for special occasions, provided that it does not exceed seven (7) days a year.

Second: The Council of Ministers may decide to return to the working hours on Saturday.

# ARTICLE 4

First: Official Holiday Law No. (110) of 1972 shall be repealed.

Second: Resolution of the Revolutionary Command Council (dissolved) No. (886) of 1979 and Resolution of the Revolutionary Command Council (dissolved) No. (210) of 1989 shall be repealed.

Third: Governing Council Resolution No. (1) of 2003 shall be repealed.

Fourth: Order No. (25) of 2005 shall be repealed.

# ARTICLE 5

The Council of Ministers may issue instructions to facilitate the implementation of the provisions of this law.





This law shall be effective once it is published in the official Gazette.

**AbdulLatif Jamaal Rasheed** 

**President of the Republic**